STS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is STS Certification?

TL;DR
  • STS here means Smart Technology Systems, a stand-alone ETA International certification for practicing technicians.
  • The written exam runs 2 hours, is published as 75-80 questions, and requires a 75% passing score.
  • The exam fee is USD 105; two-hour remote proctoring adds USD 16.
  • Twelve unweighted domains, from Safety through Basic Troubleshooting, define what the questions draw on.

What Smart Technology Systems Certification Actually Is

Smart Technology Systems (STS) is a certification for technicians who install, integrate, and support the low-voltage and networked equipment found in connected homes and light commercial buildings. The Basic STS credential is the entry point of that program. It verifies that a technician understands the fundamentals: working safely, following industry standards, running and terminating cable, understanding basic electricity, supporting communications systems, and troubleshooting problems in a customer's premises.

If you have seen the acronym attached to other credentials, set those aside. This article covers only the Smart Technology Systems certification issued by ETA International. For related definitional questions, see our explainers on what STS stands for and the meaning of STS, or the broader overview at What Is STS?.

The word "Basic" matters. ETA's Smart Technology program also includes separate endorsements and an STS Master Integrator level. Those are distinct credentials with their own requirements. This article describes the core Basic STS exam only.

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

The governing body is ETA International, a certifying organization for electronics and information technology professionals. Examinations are administered through ETA Certification Administrators, and candidates have a few delivery options:

  • In-person online testing through the Trapeza platform at an approved test site.
  • Paper-and-pencil testing in a proctored setting.
  • Remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI, which requires a webcam, microphone, suitable computer, and reliable connectivity, with registration arranged through ETA.

Whichever route you take, a proctor and photo ID are required. The exam is a written knowledge examination. According to ETA's STS program table, no hands-on assessment is part of the core credential, which makes it a test of what you know rather than a demonstration of bench skills.

The Exam at a Glance

ElementWhat ETA Publishes
Certifying bodyETA International
FormatProctored written knowledge exam, online or on paper
Number of questions75-80 (published range; exact core count not specified)
Time allowed2 hours
Passing score75%
Hands-on componentNone required
Exam feeUSD 105
Remote proctoring surchargeUSD 16 for two-hour session
RetakeOne free eligible retake within one year of first session
Certification termFour years, with maintenance
A note on what is not published: ETA gives a range of 75-80 questions rather than a single number, and it does not spell out the scored versus unscored split or confirm that every item is multiple-choice. Plan for a range of questions and a straightforward written format, but do not rely on any claim of an exact item count. The same goes for pass rates: no STS-specific candidate success rate appears in the reviewed official sources, so be skeptical of any figure you see quoted. Our page on the STS pass rate explains what can and cannot be said.

A 75% passing score means roughly three out of every four questions must be answered correctly. Across 75-80 questions in two hours, you have a little over a minute and a half per item, which is comfortable for knowledge-recall questions but tight if you stall on calculations. Details on how scoring is described are in our guide to the STS passing score.

The 12 Competency Domains

ETA states that its examination questions derive from its published competency requirements. For Basic STS, those requirements are organized into twelve numbered headings. ETA does not publish percentage weights for them, so no single domain can be identified as the heaviest. The sensible assumption is that every domain can appear and that breadth beats depth in any one area. A full walkthrough lives in our complete guide to all 12 STS content areas; here is how they group in practice.

Foundations: Safety and Standards

Domain 1: Safety

Every technician credential begins with safe work practices, and this is no exception.

  • Personal safety when working in occupied homes and building spaces
  • Electrical hazards, ladder and attic or crawlspace work, and tool safety
  • Recognizing unsafe conditions before touching a system

Domain 2: Industry Standards

Smart-technology work sits inside codes, standards, and manufacturer requirements.

  • Why standards govern how low-voltage systems are installed
  • Recognizing when a job requires following a published standard rather than improvising

Physical Layer: Wiring, Cabling, and Pre-wiring

Domains 3, 4, and 5: Low Voltage Wiring and Wireless Communication Technologies; Cabling - Connectorization; Pre-wiring

This cluster covers how signals physically get from one device to another.

  • Choosing cable types for different low-voltage and communications applications
  • Terminating and connectorizing cable correctly
  • Planning and executing pre-wire during construction so that later device installation is clean
  • Understanding where wireless technologies complement or replace wiring

Technical Core: Electrical Basics and Communications

Domain 6: Electrical Basics

Expect fundamental electricity concepts: the relationships among voltage, current, resistance, and power, plus the practical meaning of those relationships when sizing and diagnosing low-voltage circuits. Since ETA permits a nonprogrammable or scientific calculator, some questions likely involve simple calculations.

Domain 7: Communications Systems

This is where smart technology meets networking: how devices communicate, how systems connect, and how signals move through a premises. Treat it as the domain most tied to what makes a "smart" system smart.

System and Site Management

Domain 8: Residential and Light Commercial Management

Understanding the environments technicians work in, and how residential and light commercial installations differ in scope, expectations, and complexity.

Domain 9: Premises Restoration

After drilling, fishing wire, and mounting equipment, the premises must be left in good condition. Expect questions on professional site-leaving practices.

Domain 10: Tools and Equipment

Knowing which tool fits which task, and how to use test and installation equipment properly.

The Customer-Facing Finish

Domain 11: Customer Orientation and Documentation

Smart technology installs end with a customer who has to live with the system. This domain covers orienting the customer to what was installed and documenting the work.

Domain 12: Basic Troubleshooting

A methodical approach to isolating faults. Troubleshooting questions typically reward candidates who understand the layers beneath them, so strong performance in Domains 3 through 7 pays off here.

Key Takeaway

Because no domain weights are published, resist the urge to specialize. A candidate who is excellent at cabling but ignores Customer Orientation and Documentation or Premises Restoration is leaving easy points behind. Those softer domains are often the quickest to master.

Who Should Pursue This Credential

The Basic STS certification is built for working technicians, not for hobbyists or career-changers with no field exposure. ETA's Credly badge describes the holder as a practicing technician, and the subject matter assumes hands-on contact with real installations. The people who tend to benefit most include:

  • Installers at home-technology and integration companies who want third-party proof of foundational competence.
  • Security, audio-video, and networking technicians broadening into connected-home work.
  • Cabling and low-voltage technicians who already pull and terminate cable and want a credential that recognizes smart-home context.
  • Technicians planning to pursue endorsements or the Master Integrator level later, since Basic STS is the core of that ladder.

Employers in the smart-home integration, custom-installation, and low-voltage contracting space are the natural audience for this credential. For a closer look at roles, see our overview of STS jobs, and for earnings context, the STS salary guide. If you are weighing the investment, Is the STS Certification Worth It? works through the tradeoffs.

Prerequisites: What Is and Is Not Required

Basic STS is a stand-alone certification. Per ETA's published policies:

  • You do not need the Associate CET (CETa) credential first.
  • You do not need ETA membership.
  • No mandatory degree, fixed number of training hours, experience hours, or references were verified in the reviewed sources.

ETA's competency document does highly recommend prior certification in areas such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT. These are recommendations, not gatekeeping requirements. The Credly badge also references experience as a practicing technician (without a quantified minimum) and acceptance of ETA's Code of Conduct.

Recommended is not required: If you have no prior ETA certifications, you can still register. But if you already hold a cabling or fiber credential from the recommended list, you have a head start on the wiring, connectorization, and communications material. A fuller treatment is in our STS requirements guide.

Fees, Proctoring, and Test-Day Rules

What You Pay

The exam fee is USD 105, and ETA does not publish separate member and nonmember exam prices. If you choose remote proctoring for a two-hour session, add USD 16. Local proctor charges at in-person sites are not quoted, so ask your site directly. ETA also offers the core STS exam at half price when it is taken at the same time as at least one endorsement, which is worth knowing if you are already planning to go further in the program. Our STS certification cost breakdown lays out the full picture.

Preparation resources are a separate matter. ETA advertises a USD 59.95 study resource in the STS section, but the public eITPrep catalog visibly identifies the Security and Surveillance endorsement course rather than a distinct Basic STS course, so core-course availability is unverified. ETA's membership page also lists STS practice-exam access for members, but that does not make membership mandatory, and it does not imply access to actual certification questions.

Rules You Should Know Before Test Day

  • A proctor and photo ID are required.
  • Scratch paper and a nonprogrammable or scientific calculator are permitted; used scratch paper must be surrendered at the end.
  • Personal electronic devices such as phones are prohibited.
  • ETA's general rules prohibit leaving the room once testing has started, so handle breaks beforehand.
  • Remote candidates need a working webcam, microphone, adequate computer, and stable connection.

ETA's materials as reviewed do not confirm the exact open-book or closed-book rules for the STS exam or whether it uses adaptive testing. Confirm those details with ETA when you register rather than assuming. Scheduling specifics are covered in our STS exam dates and scheduling guide.

If You Do Not Pass

ETA provides one free eligible retake within one year of your first exam session. Remote-proctoring charges still apply to the retake if you test remotely. That makes your first attempt less high-stakes than it might feel, but it is still worth preparing seriously, since a failed attempt costs time and (for remote candidates) the proctoring fee.

Keeping the Certification Active

The certification term is four years, and it requires maintenance. For general non-hands-on certifications like this one, ETA's maintenance requirements are:

  • A maintenance form submitted with a USD 25 annual fee (USD 100 over the four-year cycle).
  • Either 10 continuing-education contact hours per year (40 over the cycle) or an Employer Verification Form completed by a supervisor.

ETA recommends annual submission rather than waiting until the end of the term. Spreading the paperwork and continuing-education hours across the cycle is far easier than scrambling at the end, and the supervisor-verification route can be convenient for technicians whose employers already track training.

A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence

Because ETA does not weight the domains, a sequence that builds from foundations upward is more useful than one that chases percentages. The ordering below follows how the domains depend on each other. For broader guidance, see our STS study guide, and when you want a quick refresher close to exam day, the STS cheat sheet.

Week 1

Safety and Standards

  • Review Domain 1 and Domain 2 first; they frame everything else
  • Read the official competency document end to end so you know the full scope
Week 2

Electrical Basics

  • Work Domain 6 early, since troubleshooting and wiring questions assume it
  • Practice calculations with the same type of calculator you will bring
Week 3

Wiring, Cabling, Pre-wiring

  • Cover Domains 3, 4, and 5 together as one physical-layer block
  • Connect each concept to a job you have actually done
Week 4

Communications and Tools

  • Study Domain 7 and Domain 10 side by side
  • Tie tools and equipment back to the systems they test
Week 5

Site, Customer, and Troubleshooting

  • Finish with Domains 8, 9, 11, and 12
  • Use troubleshooting as the capstone that exercises every earlier domain

Once you have worked through the material, check your readiness with timed practice. Our STS practice tests let you rehearse the written, time-limited format, and you can return to the main practice test site as often as you need to identify weak domains. If you want to gauge how demanding the exam feels before committing, read How Hard Is the STS Exam?. Related reading on the credential itself is available at STS Certification, What Is STS Certification?, and STS training.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does STS stand for in this certification?

It stands for Smart Technology Systems. This is the ETA International certification covering the installation and support of smart-home and light commercial low-voltage and communications systems. It is not related to other credentials that happen to share the acronym.

How many questions are on the Basic STS exam and how long do I have?

ETA publishes a range of 75-80 questions with a time limit of 2 hours. The exact core question count and the scored versus unscored split are not specified publicly, so plan for the range rather than a single number.

What score do I need to pass?

The published passing score is 75%. ETA does not publish an STS-specific candidate pass rate in the sources reviewed, so there is no verified figure for how many candidates pass.

Do I need another certification or ETA membership before taking it?

No. Basic STS is stand-alone, and neither the Associate CET (CETa) nor ETA membership is required. ETA highly recommends prior certifications such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT, but those are recommendations rather than prerequisites.

How long does the certification last and what does renewal involve?

The certification term is four years. Maintenance requires a form and a USD 25 annual fee, plus either 10 continuing-education contact hours per year or an Employer Verification Form completed by a supervisor. ETA recommends submitting annually.

Ready to pass your STS exam?

Put this into practice with free STS questions across every exam domain.