- What the STS Certification Actually Is
- Who Issues It and Who It Fits
- Exam Snapshot: Format, Fees, and Rules
- The 12 Competency Areas in Detail
- Registration and Test-Day Mechanics
- Prerequisites Versus Recommendations
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Domains
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Career Fit and Hiring Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- STS here means Smart Technology Systems, a stand-alone ETA International certification with no membership or CETa requirement.
- The written exam is proctored, runs 2 hours, and requires a 75% passing score.
- ETA publishes 75-80 questions for the shared STS table; the exact core count is not specified.
- The exam fee is USD 105, with one free eligible retake within one year.
What the STS Certification Actually Is
Smart Technology Systems (STS) is a technician-level certification for people who install, wire, configure, and troubleshoot connected systems in homes and light commercial buildings. It is issued by ETA International, an association best known for credentialing electronics and communications technicians. The scope covered on this page is the Basic STS credential, the entry point of ETA's smart home certification family.
That distinction matters. ETA's smart home program also includes separate endorsements and a higher-level integrator credential, but the Basic STS exam is its own stand-alone assessment. Its content comes from a published set of competency requirements, and ETA states that its examination questions derive from those competencies. If you want a broader orientation before going deeper, the overview articles on what STS certification is and what STS stands for cover the naming and positioning.
Who Issues It and Who It Fits
ETA International governs the credential, while ETA Certification Administrators handles testing. The Basic STS is aimed at practicing technicians: people pulling low-voltage cable, terminating connectors, mounting devices, connecting systems to networks, and walking customers through what was installed. ETA's Credly badge for the credential describes the earner as a practicing technician, though it does not quantify a minimum amount of experience.
Typical candidates include:
- Installers and technicians at home technology integration companies
- Low-voltage and security installers broadening into smart home work
- Electricians and cable technicians who want a recognized credential for connected-home systems
- Apprentices and junior technicians seeking a documented baseline of skills
For a look at where this credential shows up in hiring, see the STS jobs overview.
Exam Snapshot: Format, Fees, and Rules
The table below consolidates the verified logistics. Where ETA does not publish a detail, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Item | What ETA Publishes |
|---|---|
| Exam type | Proctored written knowledge examination |
| Delivery | In-person Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil; ExamRoom.AI available for remote proctoring |
| Questions | 75-80 in the shared STS table; exact core count and scored/unscored split not specified |
| Time limit | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Hands-on component | None required, per the STS table |
| Exam fee | USD 105 |
| Remote proctoring add-on | USD 16 for two-hour remote proctoring; local proctor charges not quoted |
| Retake | One free eligible retake within one year of the first session; remote-proctoring charges still apply |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed in reviewed official sources |
Two points deserve emphasis. First, the question count is published as a range, so anyone quoting a single exact number for the core exam is going beyond the public record. Second, ETA has not publicly specified an item-type breakdown, so do not assume the exam is entirely multiple choice; prepare to read each question carefully either way. For the passing threshold and how to think about it, the STS passing score article goes deeper, and the STS pass rate article explains why no verified success rate exists.
The 12 Competency Areas in Detail
ETA publishes the Basic STS competency requirements as twelve numbered top-level headings. The source document is dated May 25, 2022, and no separately numbered 2026 exam version has been verified. Importantly, no percentage weights are published, so no single domain can be called the heaviest. Treat all twelve as fair game, and use the complete guide to all 12 STS content areas for deeper coverage of each.
Domain 1: Safety
Safety sits first for a reason: smart technology work involves ladders, attics, crawl spaces, tools, and energized circuits near customers' belongings.
- Personal protective equipment and safe work practices on a job site
- Hazard recognition when working in finished living spaces
- Safe handling of tools and cable in confined or elevated locations
Domain 2: Industry Standards
Installation quality is judged against recognized practices, not personal preference.
- Understanding the role of codes and standards in low-voltage installation
- Knowing why standardized practices matter for compatibility and inspection
Domain 3: Low Voltage Wiring and Wireless Communication Technologies
This area connects wired infrastructure with the wireless technologies that increasingly carry smart device traffic.
- Common low-voltage cable types and their appropriate uses
- Wireless communication fundamentals relevant to connected devices
- Choosing wired versus wireless approaches for a given installation
Domain 4: Cabling - Connectorization
A system is only as reliable as its terminations.
- Terminating and connectorizing cable correctly
- Recognizing the symptoms of a poor termination
Domain 5: Pre-wiring
Pre-wire work happens before drywall closes, and mistakes here are expensive to fix later.
- Planning cable routes and device locations during construction or remodel
- Labeling and documenting runs while walls are still open
Domain 6: Electrical Basics
Technicians need enough electrical fundamentals to work safely and diagnose problems.
- Core electrical concepts and relationships
- Applying basic calculations; ETA permits a nonprogrammable or scientific calculator at testing
Domain 7: Communications Systems
Smart homes live on networks, so communications knowledge is central.
- How devices communicate across wired and wireless paths
- Basic network concepts as they apply to connected systems
Domain 8: Residential and Light Commercial Management
This area addresses managing the systems and environments you install in homes and small commercial spaces.
- Understanding how installed subsystems fit together at a property
- Considerations that differ between residential and light commercial settings
Domain 9: Premises Restoration
Leaving the site as you found it is part of the job.
- Repairing penetrations and finishes after cable work
- Professional cleanup and respect for the customer's property
Domain 10: Tools and Equipment
Knowing the right tool, and how to use it correctly, affects both speed and quality.
- Identifying common installation, termination, and test tools
- Proper use and care of equipment
Domain 11: Customer Orientation and Documentation
Smart technology installers work in people's homes, so customer interaction is a technical skill in its own right.
- Orienting customers to the systems installed
- Producing accurate documentation of what was installed and how
Domain 12: Basic Troubleshooting
Diagnosis ties the other eleven areas together.
- Approaching faults methodically rather than by guesswork
- Isolating whether a problem is wiring, termination, power, or communication
Key Takeaway
Because ETA publishes no domain weights, avoid the trap of over-studying your favorite area. A candidate strong in cabling but weak in customer documentation or premises restoration is exposed, since all twelve headings feed the exam.
Registration and Test-Day Mechanics
ETA lets you test in person at an approved site using Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil, or remotely with ExamRoom.AI proctoring arranged through ETA. Remote candidates need a webcam, a microphone, a suitable computer, and reliable connectivity. The two-hour remote proctoring adds USD 16 on top of the USD 105 exam fee; local proctor charges at in-person sites are not quoted, so ask your site directly. Scheduling details and windows are covered in the STS exam dates article.
On test day, expect these rules:
- A proctor is required, and you must present photo ID.
- Scratch paper and a nonprogrammable or scientific calculator are allowed; used scratch paper must be surrendered.
- Personal electronic devices such as phones are prohibited.
- ETA's general rules prohibit leaving the room once testing starts, so handle everything beforehand.
ETA has not publicly verified the STS-specific open or closed-book rule or whether the test is adaptive. Confirm both with your test site before exam day instead of assuming.
Prerequisites Versus Recommendations
Basic STS is a stand-alone certification. ETA does not require the Associate CET (CETa) or ETA membership. The competency document does highly recommend prior certification in areas such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT, but these are recommendations only. No mandatory degree, fixed training hours, experience hours, or references were verified. Candidates are expected to accept ETA's Code of Conduct.
In practice, that means a motivated technician with hands-on cabling and installation experience can sit for the exam directly. The STS requirements guide lays out eligibility in more detail, and STS training covers ways to build the underlying skills if you are newer to the field.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Domains
Because the exam is a written test drawn from the competency list, your best preparation is converting each of the twelve headings into a checklist you can explain aloud. Here is one way to sequence the work so that foundational topics come before the ones that build on them. For a fuller plan, see the STS study guide, and for a compact refresher near exam day, the STS cheat sheet.
Foundations: Safety, Standards, Electrical Basics
- Read the competency document end to end once, marking unfamiliar terms
- Work Domains 1, 2, and 6 first, since they underpin everything else
Physical Layer: Wiring, Connectorization, Pre-wiring
- Cover Domains 3, 4, and 5 together, because they describe one installation workflow
- Practice explaining why each cable or termination choice is made
Systems and Tools: Communications, Management, Equipment
- Study Domains 7, 8, and 10
- Connect tools to the tasks they perform
Job Finish and Diagnosis: Restoration, Customer Work, Troubleshooting
- Review Domains 9, 11, and 12, which tie the whole job together
- Take timed practice questions covering all twelve areas
Do not skip the softer domains. Premises restoration and customer documentation can look easy, but they are exactly the topics that experienced installers sometimes underprepare for because they handle them by habit rather than by definition. For a realistic read on effort, the STS difficulty guide is a useful companion.
Using official versus unofficial materials
ETA advertises a USD 59.95 study resource in its STS section, but the publicly linked eITPrep catalog visibly identifies the Security and Surveillance endorsement course rather than a separate Basic STS course, so core-course availability is unverified. Do not treat the endorsement course as your Basic STS syllabus. ETA's membership page does list member practice-exam access for STS, but membership is not mandatory and a practice exam is not the same as access to real certification questions. For additional practice, you can run through questions on the STS practice test site and track which domains cause hesitation.
Keeping the Credential Active
The certification term is four years, and maintenance is required. For general non-hands-on maintenance, ETA asks for:
- The maintenance form
- USD 25 per year, or USD 100 over the four-year cycle
- Either 10 continuing-education contact hours per year (40 over the cycle) or an Employer Verification Form completed by a supervisor
ETA recommends submitting annually rather than waiting until the end of the cycle. Spreading the fee and the continuing-education hours across four years is far easier than assembling everything at once, and it keeps your record current if an employer asks you to verify status.
Key Takeaway
Budget for the credential's full life, not just the exam. The USD 105 exam fee is the start; maintenance adds USD 100 across four years, plus the time or employer sign-off needed for continuing education.
Career Fit and Hiring Context
Smart Technology Systems credentials are most relevant where connected-home installation is part of the business model: home technology integrators, low-voltage contractors, security and surveillance installers, and electrical contractors adding smart home services. A recognized baseline credential helps a hiring manager quickly gauge that a candidate understands safe installation, wiring, customer orientation, and troubleshooting, not just device setup.
Because no verified salary or hiring-volume data tied specifically to Basic STS appears in ETA's public sources, avoid relying on blanket earnings claims. The STS salary guide and the STS ROI analysis discuss how to evaluate the credential against your own market and employer, and the STS jobs page covers the roles where it appears. If you are weighing the value of the credential, think in terms of what it unlocks locally: employer preference, customer trust, and a documented foundation for pursuing endorsements later.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Smart Technology Systems. The credential is issued by ETA International and should not be confused with other credentials that happen to share the same acronym. See the STS meaning article for more.
ETA publishes 75-80 questions in the shared STS exam-information table. The exact count for the core exam and the scored versus unscored split are not publicly specified, so plan for the range rather than a single number.
The published passing score is 75%. The exam is a proctored written knowledge examination with a two-hour time limit, and no hands-on assessment is required according to the STS table.
No. Basic STS is a stand-alone certification, and neither ETA membership nor the Associate CET is required. Prior certifications such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT are highly recommended in the competency document but are not mandatory prerequisites.
ETA offers one free eligible retake within one year of your first exam session. Any remote-proctoring charges remain payable on the retake, so factor that in if you test remotely.