STS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does STS Stand For?

TL;DR
  • On this site, STS means Smart Technology Systems, a certification issued by ETA International.
  • The Basic STS exam is a proctored written test: 75-80 published questions, 2 hours, 75% to pass.
  • The exam fee is USD 105, with a free eligible retake within one year of the first session.
  • Competencies are organized into 12 domains, from Safety through Basic Troubleshooting.

The Short Answer: Smart Technology Systems

STS stands for Smart Technology Systems. In the context of this site, it refers to the Basic Smart Technology Systems certification offered through ETA International, a certifying body best known for credentialing electronics and communications technicians. If you landed here after searching "what does STS stand for," you will find that the acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials and terms in other industries. This article covers only one of them: the technician-level smart technology credential.

The certification is aimed at people who install, configure, and troubleshoot connected systems in homes and light commercial buildings. Think structured wiring, low-voltage cabling, wireless communication, and the practical customer-facing work that surrounds a smart-home or small-building installation. For a broader orientation, see our overview pages on what STS is and the meaning of STS.

Identity check: The STS discussed here is Smart Technology Systems from ETA International. It is not Safety Trained Supervisor, and it is not a drone-operator examination. If you are preparing for a different credential that happens to use the same three letters, the exam details below will not apply to you.

Who Issues the Credential

ETA International governs the Basic STS certification. The written examination is administered through ETA Certification Administrators, and candidates can test in person, either through Trapeza online testing or on paper, or take it remotely with ExamRoom.AI proctoring. The scope of the exam is defined by ETA's published Basic STS competency requirements document, a May 25, 2022 print that lists the skills and knowledge areas from which exam questions are derived.

Two points are worth knowing up front. First, ETA states that its examination questions derive from the published competencies, which makes that document the most authoritative map of what to study. Second, the competency list is unweighted: ETA does not publish percentage weights for each area, so no single domain can honestly be called "the biggest." Plan to be competent across all twelve.

What Each Word in the Name Tells You

Smart

"Smart" signals connected, networked, often automated equipment: devices that communicate over cabling or wireless links and can be managed or monitored. The exam does not treat this as a marketing term. It is grounded in how signals travel, how systems are wired, and how components are integrated.

Technology

"Technology" reflects the breadth of the subject matter. Candidates are expected to understand low-voltage wiring, wireless communication technologies, electrical basics, and communications systems, rather than a single product line or vendor.

Systems

"Systems" is the most important word for exam preparation. The credential emphasizes how components fit together in a residential or light commercial setting, from pre-wiring a structure to documenting the finished installation and troubleshooting problems afterward. The competencies are written at the level of a practicing technician, not a design engineer.

The 12 Content Areas Behind the Acronym

The Basic STS competency document contains twelve numbered top-level headings. These are the content areas your questions will draw from. A fuller breakdown is available in our complete guide to all 12 STS content areas; here is a practical summary of what each one is about.

Domains 1-2: Safety and Industry Standards

These establish the professional baseline. Expect questions about safe work practices on a job site and the codes, standards, and conventions that govern installation work.

  • Safe handling of tools, ladders, and electrical hazards around premises
  • Recognizing which standards apply to low-voltage and communications work

Domains 3-5: Wiring, Connectorization, and Pre-wiring

This cluster is the physical-layer core of the credential: the cables, connectors, and rough-in work that make a smart system possible.

  • Low Voltage Wiring and Wireless Communication Technologies, including how wired and wireless links differ in practice
  • Cabling and Connectorization: terminating and connecting cable correctly
  • Pre-wiring: planning and running cable before walls are closed

Domains 6-8: Electrical Basics, Communications Systems, and Management

Here the exam moves from physical installation to how systems behave and are managed.

  • Electrical Basics: the foundational concepts a technician needs to work safely and diagnose problems (a nonprogrammable or scientific calculator is permitted, so be ready for basic calculations)
  • Communications Systems: how information moves between devices and networks
  • Residential and Light Commercial Management: the context of the buildings and users these systems serve

Domains 9-12: Restoration, Tools, Customers, and Troubleshooting

The final group covers the professional finish and the diagnostic mindset.

  • Premises Restoration: leaving the customer's property in good condition after installation work
  • Tools and Equipment: selecting and using the right instruments
  • Customer Orientation and Documentation: explaining the system and recording what was installed
  • Basic Troubleshooting: a structured approach to isolating faults
Why the unweighted list matters: Because ETA publishes no percentage weights, do not skip a domain because it seems less technical. Customer Orientation and Documentation or Premises Restoration can feel soft compared with wiring, yet each is a numbered competency area that exam questions can derive from.

How the Exam Is Built and Delivered

The Basic STS exam is a proctored written knowledge examination. No hands-on assessment is required according to ETA's STS program table, so you will not be asked to terminate a cable in front of an examiner. The key facts are below.

ItemBasic STS Detail
Issuing bodyETA International
FormatProctored written knowledge exam, online or on paper
Published question count75-80 questions (shared STS table and catalog)
Time allowed2 hours
Passing score75%
Hands-on componentNone required
Allowed materialsScratch paper and a nonprogrammable/scientific calculator
ProhibitedPhones and other personal electronic devices

ETA publishes the question count as a range, and the exact core STS count and scored/unscored split are not publicly specified, so treat 75-80 as the official figure rather than guessing at a precise number. The specific item types, such as whether every question is multiple-choice, were also not verified in the public sources, which is a good reason to practice with varied question styles rather than assuming one format.

On the day, a proctor and photo ID are required. Used scratch paper must be surrendered, and ETA's general rules prohibit leaving the room once testing has started. For remote sessions you need a webcam, a microphone, a suitable computer, and reliable connectivity. For a deeper look at scoring, read what you need to pass, and for a realistic read on difficulty, see how hard the STS exam is.

Key Takeaway

A 75% threshold on a 75-80 question exam means you can miss roughly one in four questions and still pass, but with no published domain weights, the safest plan is steady competence everywhere rather than gambling on a few strong areas.

Fees, Registration, and Remote Proctoring

The Basic STS exam fee is USD 105. ETA does not publish separate member and nonmember exam prices for STS. Several cost details can change your total:

  • Endorsement discount: ETA offers the core STS exam at half price when it is taken at the same time as at least one endorsement.
  • Remote proctoring: Two-hour remote proctoring adds USD 16. Local proctor charges for in-person sessions are not quoted publicly, so ask your test site.
  • Retake: One free eligible retake is available within one year of the first exam session, though remote-proctoring charges remain payable.
  • Study resources: ETA advertises a USD 59.95 study resource in its STS section, but the linked public course catalog visibly identifies a Security & Surveillance endorsement course rather than a separate Basic STS course, so confirm availability before purchasing.

Our complete pricing breakdown walks through how these pieces combine, and our scheduling guide explains how to arrange a testing session.

Who Should Pursue It and Who Hires for It

Basic STS is a stand-alone certification. You do not need the Associate CET (CETa) credential, and ETA membership is not required. ETA's competency document highly recommends prior certification such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT, but these are recommendations rather than mandatory prerequisites. The public record also lists experience as a practicing technician without a quantified minimum, and acceptance of ETA's Code of Conduct. No mandatory degree, fixed training hours, experience hours, or references were verified. See our requirements guide for the full eligibility picture.

In practice, the credential suits:

  • Installers and field technicians working on home automation, structured wiring, and low-voltage systems
  • Cable and low-voltage contractors broadening into smart-home and light commercial work
  • Technicians at integration companies who want a recognized, third-party credential to show customers
  • Electricians and telecom technicians who already do related work and want formal recognition of the smart-systems side

The employers that care are the ones whose crews enter customers' homes and small businesses: integrators, low-voltage contractors, security and audio-video installers, and service providers. We cover the market in more depth in our guides to STS jobs and STS earnings, and you can weigh the investment with our ROI analysis. We do not quote specific salary or pass-rate figures here because ETA has not disclosed an STS-specific candidate success rate, and we will not invent one; see what the data shows for the honest state of the evidence.

Keeping the Credential Active

The certification term is four years, and maintenance is required. For general non-hands-on maintenance, ETA asks for the maintenance form and USD 25 per year (USD 100 across the four-year cycle), plus one of two things:

  • 10 continuing-education contact hours per year (40 over the cycle), or
  • an Employer Verification Form completed by a supervisor.

ETA recommends submitting annually rather than waiting until the end of the cycle, which spreads both the paperwork and the cost. Think of the credential as a living one: the exam gets you in, and consistent maintenance keeps you in.

A Domain-by-Domain Study Order

You do not need an elaborate method. What helps most is sequencing the twelve domains so related ideas reinforce each other. Here is one reasonable four-week order for someone with some field experience; adjust it to your background and see our full study guide for more depth.

Week 1

Foundations

  • Domain 1 (Safety) and Domain 2 (Industry Standards), since they frame every later topic
  • Domain 6 (Electrical Basics), including any calculations you can do on a scientific calculator
Week 2

Physical Layer

  • Domain 3 (Low Voltage Wiring and Wireless), Domain 4 (Connectorization), and Domain 5 (Pre-wiring) studied together
Week 3

Systems and Context

  • Domain 7 (Communications Systems) and Domain 8 (Residential and Light Commercial Management)
  • Domain 10 (Tools and Equipment)
Week 4

Professional Finish and Review

  • Domain 9 (Premises Restoration), Domain 11 (Customer Orientation and Documentation), Domain 12 (Basic Troubleshooting)
  • Timed practice sets, then a quick pass through weak areas, using our one-page cheat sheet as a final check

Troubleshooting goes last because it draws on everything before it: you cannot isolate a fault in a cabling run without understanding connectorization, pre-wiring, and basic electrical behavior. ETA's membership page also lists STS member practice-exam access, though membership is optional and that access does not mean you will see actual certification questions. To rehearse the timing and pressure of a 2-hour exam, take a few sessions on our STS practice test, and use the question-by-question explanations to find which domains need another look.

Match practice to the format: Because the exam is written and proctored with a 2-hour limit, practice under the same conditions: no phone, a calculator only, scratch paper only, and a continuous block of time. The practice exams on the main site are designed for exactly this kind of realistic run-through.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does STS stand for in this certification?

STS stands for Smart Technology Systems. It is a technician-level certification issued by ETA International covering smart-home and light commercial systems, from low-voltage wiring to troubleshooting. For related explanations, see our pages on what STS stands for and what STS certification is.

Is STS the same as Safety Trained Supervisor or a drone exam?

No. Those are different credentials that happen to share the acronym. The Basic STS covered here is ETA International's Smart Technology Systems certification, and its exam facts do not apply to any other STS.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

ETA publishes a range of 75-80 questions over a 2-hour written exam, with a 75% passing score. The exact core STS question count and the scored/unscored split are not publicly specified.

Do I need other certifications or ETA membership first?

No. Basic STS is stand-alone, and neither CETa nor ETA membership is required. ETA highly recommends earlier certifications such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT, but they are recommendations, not prerequisites.

How long does the certification last?

The term is four years with required maintenance: USD 25 per year, plus either 10 continuing-education contact hours per year or an Employer Verification Form completed by a supervisor. Annual submission is recommended. Read more in our STS certification overview.

Ready to pass your STS exam?

Put this into practice with free STS questions across every exam domain.