- What STS Means on This Site
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- Who Governs the Credential
- What the Exam Covers: 12 Domains
- Exam Format and Testing Mechanics
- Fees and Registration
- Who Should Take It and Who Hires for It
- Prerequisites: Recommendations vs. Requirements
- After You Pass: Term and Maintenance
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- STS here means Smart Technology Systems, a basic technician certification governed by ETA International.
- The written exam runs 2 hours with a published range of 75-80 questions and a 75% passing score.
- The exam fee is USD 105; two-hour remote proctoring adds USD 16.
- The competency document lists 12 domains, from Safety through Basic Troubleshooting, with no published weights.
What STS Means on This Site
On this site, STS stands for Smart Technology Systems. It refers to a basic-level certification for technicians who install, wire, configure, and troubleshoot connected systems in homes and light commercial buildings. If you searched the acronym and landed here, this article pins down exactly what that phrase covers and what it does not. For a quick definition-style companion, see What Is STS? and What Does STS Stand For?.
The credential sits in ETA International's smart home certification family. The scope documented for this site is the Basic Smart Technology Systems (STS) certification, the core exam candidates take before any optional specialty add-ons. If you want the full picture of how the certification is structured, our overview at STS Certification goes deeper.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
"STS" is a crowded abbreviation. Several unrelated credentials and technical terms share those three letters, and search results mix them freely. That is precisely why a clear identity statement matters before you invest in study materials or pay an exam fee.
A practical rule of thumb: confirm the issuing body (ETA International), the subject matter (smart home and low-voltage systems), and the competency document title before buying anything. If those three do not match, you are reading about a different credential. Our articles What Does STS Mean? and What Is A STS? address the naming question from other angles.
Who Governs the Credential
The certification is governed by ETA International, which publishes the competency requirements the exam is built from. Testing is handled through ETA Certification Administrators, which offers delivery through in-person Trapeza online testing or paper-and-pencil, with ExamRoom.AI available for remote proctoring.
ETA states that its examination questions derive from the published competencies. That single sentence shapes your whole preparation strategy: the competency document is the closest thing to an official blueprint, and everything you study should trace back to it. Note that the version in circulation is dated May 25, 2022, and no separately numbered newer exam version has been identified. Treat the document as current but check ETA's pages before you register.
What the Exam Covers: 12 Domains
The competency document organizes the exam into twelve numbered top-level headings. ETA does not publish percentage weights, so no domain can be labeled the heaviest. Because weights are unknown, the safest approach is broad coverage rather than betting on a few favorite topics. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, read STS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 12 Content Areas.
| # | Domain | What it signals to candidates |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Safety | Job-site and electrical safety practices expected of any field technician |
| 2 | Industry Standards | Codes, standards, and conventions that govern installation work |
| 3 | Low Voltage Wiring and Wireless Communication Technologies | Wired and wireless media used to connect devices |
| 4 | Cabling - Connectorization | Terminating cable and attaching connectors correctly |
| 5 | Pre-wiring | Planning and running cable before finishes go up |
| 6 | Electrical Basics | Foundational electrical principles behind low-voltage work |
| 7 | Communications Systems | How the connected systems carry data, voice, and control signals |
| 8 | Residential and Light Commercial Management | Working within the environments where these systems are installed |
| 9 | Premises Restoration | Leaving the property in good condition after installation work |
| 10 | Tools and Equipment | Selecting and using the right instruments and installation tools |
| 11 | Customer Orientation and Documentation | Client-facing conduct and the records a technician leaves behind |
| 12 | Basic Troubleshooting | Diagnosing and resolving common faults methodically |
Where the exam leans practical
Several domains read like a job description rather than a theory syllabus. Pre-wiring, cabling and connectorization, premises restoration, and tools and equipment all describe things a technician physically does on site. Expect questions that test whether you know the correct practice, not just the vocabulary.
- Know why cable is pulled and terminated the way it is, not only the steps
- Be able to match a tool to its task and recognize misuse
- Understand what "leaving the premises restored" actually requires
Where the exam leans conceptual
Safety, industry standards, electrical basics, and communications systems supply the underlying knowledge. These domains give you the reasoning that makes the practical questions easier.
- Electrical basics support both wiring and troubleshooting questions
- Industry standards frame what counts as a correct installation
- Communications systems tie wired and wireless concepts together
One domain deserves special attention for people coming from a pure technical background: Customer Orientation and Documentation. It is easy to dismiss as soft-skills filler, yet it is an explicit numbered domain in the official competencies. Technicians who can wire flawlessly but ignore documentation and customer handoff expectations leave points on the table.
Exam Format and Testing Mechanics
The Basic STS is a proctored written knowledge examination. According to ETA's published information, it runs 2 hours and contains 75-80 questions. ETA publishes this as a range in its shared STS table, and the exact core question count and any scored versus unscored split are not publicly specified, so plan for the range rather than a single number. No hands-on assessment is required.
The passing score is 75%. For a closer look at how that threshold plays out, see STS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. ETA has not publicly disclosed a pass rate, and our page STS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said honestly about outcomes.
Two details remain unverified from public sources: the specific item types (for example, whether every question is multiple choice) and the exact open-book or adaptive-testing rules. Do not assume either way. Confirm with ETA when you register.
| Exam feature | What ETA publishes |
|---|---|
| Format | Proctored written knowledge exam, online or on paper |
| Length | 2 hours |
| Questions | 75-80 (published range) |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Hands-on component | Not required |
| Calculator | Nonprogrammable or scientific allowed |
| Retake | One free eligible retake within one year of first session |
For a candid look at how demanding this format is in practice, read How Hard Is the STS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Fees and Registration
The exam fee is USD 105. ETA does not publish separate member and nonmember exam prices. If you choose remote testing, two-hour remote proctoring adds USD 16. Local proctor charges for in-person sittings are not quoted publicly, so ask the test site directly.
- Bundle discount: ETA offers the core STS exam at half price when taken at the same time as at least one endorsement.
- Free retake: One eligible retake is available within one year of your first exam session, though remote-proctoring charges remain payable.
- Optional study resource: ETA advertises a USD 59.95 study resource in the STS section, but whether a dedicated core STS course exists in the linked catalog is unverified, so check before purchasing.
Registration is arranged through ETA, and remote candidates coordinate their sitting through the same channel. Our pricing page, STS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, tallies these line items, and STS Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling covers scheduling.
Who Should Take It and Who Hires for It
The credential is aimed at working or aspiring technicians in the smart home and low-voltage space: people who run cable, terminate connections, set up networked devices, and support homeowners and small commercial clients. ETA's Credly badge describes the audience as practicing technicians, though it does not quantify a minimum amount of experience.
Typical employers are the kinds of companies that install and service connected systems: home technology integrators, security and surveillance installers, low-voltage contractors, and service companies that maintain residential and light commercial properties. We deliberately avoid quoting hiring volumes or pay figures here because none are published for this credential in a way we can verify. For what the career side looks like, see STS Jobs, and for earnings context see STS Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis. If you are weighing the investment, Is the STS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 frames the decision.
Key Takeaway
Because the exam mirrors day-to-day technician responsibilities, your field experience is an asset. Use it to anchor study: for each of the 12 domains, ask what you do on a real job that corresponds, then fill the gaps where your daily work does not touch a topic.
Prerequisites: Recommendations vs. Requirements
STS is a stand-alone certification. The Associate CET (CETa) and ETA membership are not required to sit the exam. The competency document highly recommends previous certification in areas such as CAT, DCI, DVE, FOI, FOT, FOT-OSP, or TTT, but these are recommendations, not mandatory prerequisites. No mandatory degree, fixed training hours, experience hours, or references have been verified. Candidates are expected to accept ETA's Code of Conduct.
ETA's membership page lists STS member practice-exam access. That perk is optional, and it does not establish access to actual certification questions. For the complete eligibility picture, see STS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
After You Pass: Term and Maintenance
The certification carries a four-year term with maintenance required. For general non-hands-on certifications, maintenance involves submitting the maintenance form and paying USD 25 per year (USD 100 over four years), plus either:
- 10 continuing-education contact hours per year (40 over the cycle), or
- an Employer Verification Form completed by a supervisor.
Annual submission is recommended rather than saving everything for the end of the term. Treat maintenance as a recurring task so a missed deadline never threatens the credential.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Since no domain weights are published, sequence by dependency instead of by guesswork: lay the conceptual foundation first, then layer practical topics on top. Here is one way to map the twelve domains across a short plan. Our full method lives in STS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Foundations
- Safety and Industry Standards, since they frame every later topic
- Electrical Basics, which underpins wiring and troubleshooting
Physical installation
- Low Voltage Wiring and Wireless Communication Technologies
- Cabling - Connectorization and Pre-wiring
Systems and environment
- Communications Systems
- Residential and Light Commercial Management, plus Tools and Equipment
Professional finish and review
- Premises Restoration and Customer Orientation and Documentation
- Basic Troubleshooting, then timed practice against the 2-hour limit
Troubleshooting comes last on purpose: it draws on nearly every other domain, so it rewards candidates who have already absorbed the wiring, electrical, and communications material. When you reach timed practice, use our STS practice tests to rehearse the 2-hour pace and find domains that need another pass, and keep the STS Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy for a final skim. If you want hands-on guidance beyond self-study, see STS Training.
Frequently Asked Questions
It means Smart Technology Systems, ETA International's basic certification for smart home and low-voltage technicians. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym.
ETA publishes a range of 75-80 questions and a time limit of 2 hours. The exact core count and any scored versus unscored split are not publicly specified.
The passing score is 75%. ETA does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the exam.
No. STS is a stand-alone certification, and neither ETA membership nor the Associate CET is required. Certain prior certifications are recommended but not mandatory.
The exam fee is USD 105, with two-hour remote proctoring adding USD 16. One free eligible retake is available within one year of your first session, though remote-proctoring charges still apply.
Understanding what STS actually means is the first step toward preparing for it well. Once you know it is a Smart Technology Systems technician exam built on twelve published competency domains, you can study the right material, budget accurately, and walk into a proctored 2-hour sitting knowing exactly what to expect. When you are ready to test your knowledge, head to the main practice test site, and revisit STS Meaning and What Is STS Certification? any time you need a refresher on the basics.